Fat Tuesday

Oh dear, I have to share this again after the dinner table reception it enjoyed tonight. Fat Tuesday, and I decided that I really did want to work once, eat twice, so I doubled the whole dang thang and it was the Best Vegan Jambalaya I’ve made. It almost didn’t fit in my Large Skillet, so don’t try to more-than-double unless you make it in a Large Soup Pot. I doubled all ingredients except: instead of 1 c diced fresh tomatoes, I used 1 15oz can diced tomatoes in juice; I had 3/4c tomato sauce, so instead of opening another can I used 1/4c enchilada sauce I had ready for another meal (this might contribute to spiciness – not that my fam minded but sharing for honesty, and use what you’ve got); and my garlic cloves were Large, so I used 6, not 8-12, but if you Love you some Garlic, go ahead! I simmered lid-on for 25 minutes, checking periodically, and didn’t need to add more liquid. I added 10 minutes to the timer, then added a half-cup of broth. When I added remaining ingredients, I stirred in one last half-cup of broth; turned off heat and let sit until the family gathered. Perfecto!

Miracles in the Mundane

I didn’t grow up in a church that observed a Lenten tradition. As an adult, however, I have come to appreciate the tradition of giving up or taking on spiritual practices as a way of drawing near to Jesus.

I came to Fat Tuesday even later, and mostly because I like to cook.

Mardi Gras means Fat Tuesday in French. Fat Tuesday is the day before Ash Wednesday; Ash Wednesday begins the season of Lent. So Fat Tuesday is the final hip-hip-hurrah Day of Indulgence before one abstains for 40 days until Easter.

I’ve seen Facebook posts today about pancakes and just learned why: pancakes are a traditional Mardi Gras food as families use up the household’s fat, eggs, and dairy before Lent.

I don’t try to clean out the kitchen for Lent. Nope, no way I’m gonna try to eat through the leftover holiday candy, or worse, drink through the liquor cabinet!…

View original post 726 more words

Leave a Reply

